Summer Plans/Goals

Over the summer holidays, I’ve decided to focus on Visual Effects and Shaders. I’d like to learn how to create cool shaders in Maya, since up to this point I’ve been simply messing with the sliders and options until it looked right. I think I need to learn more about them so I can understand what everything does, also cutting down the amount of time it would take to do it.

In addition, I want to create some more VFX shots in order to both test out the shaders I’ll create, and to simply increase my skills. I’ve wanted to create one based on a shot in ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2’, where Starlord’s eyes become filled with stars and galaxies, since seeing it at the cinema and I suppose this is finally my chance to do it.

If my internet is strong enough, I’d like to try livestreaming while I work on the VFX shots. I have a few already planned, but I’m open to new ideas:

  1. Galaxy Eyes, based on ‘Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2’. Would involve layering particles and transparent shots to create a rotating galaxy, then rotoscoping to overlay the person’s face. It should be reasonably easy to create, the only issues arising from the need to rotoscope really perfectly and then blend it so it looks real.
  2. Ocean Dragon. Involves modelling a long thin dragon and making it rise from the ocean. This is much more complex, since it involves rotoscoping, compositing ripples and waves and using a 3D model.
  3. Magic Summoning. This would be multiple shots of the same person from multiple angles, compositing in particles, glowing auras and magic circles around them. This would probably involve rotoing out the person in order to composite the magic circles underneath them.
  4. Forest Jellyfish Shot 3. I’d like to work on this shot, even if I don’t get it finished. I have all the necessary footage for it, so I don’t know why I wouldn’t at least try to get it finished.

Finally, I’d like to explore Unity a little before I begin programming in it in September. Most importantly, I’d like to have a look at the lighting within it, since this will make or break the game we create next year.

Leave a Reply

